A step by step tutorial on how to delete and not just deactivate your Facebook account
A tutorial on how to delete and not just deactivate your Facebook account our profile and all data – photos, videos, comments, status updates, friends and connections – associated with it.
As I wrote in my article on “Why is Facebook bad“, there are plenty of good reasons to not only deactivate but permanently delete your Facebook account and all data connected with it.
The delete functionality is quite hidden. Of course, Facebook does not like to see you go. Every active member of the community means good business thus money for the company.
Deactivation vs. Deletion of a Facebook Account
Facebook makes it incredibly difficult for you to really permanently delete your account. Deactivation and Deletion are two different things. Deactivating a Facebook account matches temporarily hiding your information on Facebook. To permanently remove your all your information you have to permanently delete it. This option is much harder to find, you can find the link below.
Step by Step Tutorial – How to Delete Your Facebook Profile
To permanently delete your account, follow the steps below:
Get rid of all your personal information on Facebook. Delete your friend list, pictures, videos, status updates, pages, …simply everything. That makes it easier to stop smoking the Facebook joint and not come back.
Visit this link: Delete My Account. “If you do not think you will use Facebook again and would like your account deleted, we can take care of this for you. Keep in mind that you will not be able to reactivate your account or retrieve any of the content or information you have added. If you would like your account deleted, then click Submit.”.
“Permanently Delete My Account” – This is where Facebook asks you to solve a challenge-response test (CAPTCHA) to verify your wish for permanently deleting your account. To get to the next step and confirm, click “Okay”.
At this point Facebook lets you know that you will now have to sit tight for as long as 14 days. During that period of time, your account will only be “deactivated”. After 14 days of hearing NOTHING from you, your account will be permanently deleted.
You will then receive a confirmation email with the subject “Account Scheduled for Deletion”.
Make sure Facebook really hears not from you during those 14 days, you should: Permanently stop all communications with Facebook (Apps, Facebook Connect Logins, Instant Messengers, Remove all Linked Accounts (like Twitter, Identi.ca, etc.), …
Clear your Browser cache to make sure you do not automatically login to Facebook by accident.
Aggregation and Backups
The process of deletion will – hopefully – delete all your personal information from Facebook. This is, given that none of your friends has copied or spread any of your personal data. Imagine a friend of yours re-posted one of your status updates. This re-post will not be deleted. Depending on how often things like this happened while you were on Facebook, the deeper your everlasting footprint on Facebook will be.
Your information and personal data will also be kept in system backups. For an out-sider there is no way of knowing that all information will really be erased in a way normal people understand a “delete” process.
Author: Jonas Jacek |